In this article:
- What is Company Role?
- What is Project Role?
- The differences between a Company Role and a Project Role
- What is a Company Group?
Before starting to invite members to your Gridly company, you need to understand that a member in your company has two roles (Company Role and Project Role) and belongs to one or many company groups.
What is Company Role?
A company can have many members, and a member can belong to many companies. Each member in a company have their own Company Roles.
Company Roles define a user's right at the higher, company level. There are three fixed organization roles: owner, admin, and user. Company roles can only be customized if you are on the PRO or ENTERPRISE plan.
As for what each of these company roles can do, it’s summarized in the following table:
What is Project Role?
Project Roles dictate how a user can interact with content in a given Project.
There are 5 available Project Roles in Gridly:
- Creator: can fully manage databases, grids, and views
- Editor: can edit columns and records in shared views
- Translator: can work in the assigned languages in the shared views
- Viewer: cannot edit in shared views
- Localization Manager: can edit records and localization features.
The differences between a Company Role and a Project Role
You need to understand that a member of your company has two roles, which are Company Roles and Project Roles. Project Roles, again, dictate how a user can interact with content in a given project, and Company roles define a member’s rights at the higher, company level.
What is a Company Group?
A Company Group is a group of members who have access to the specified projects/databases and shared views. Each member of a company belongs to a company group.
There are 2 default company groups in Gridly:
- Full access: have the full access to every Grids and their shared views. Members whose Company Roles are admins and owners are automatically added to this company group.
- Translator: have access to views that are shared by the Owner or Admin.
You can edit accesses of a company group and add more members to the group in the Company settings. Learn how to manage groups