Help center

    Start for free Sign in search

      Get Started Add Content Billing FAQs

      Translation Memory (TM) Setup

      Thy Nguyen

      Updated on December 8th, 2023

      Table of Contents

      What is Translation memory (TM)

      Translation memory (TM) is a common-source translation tool designed to reduce translation time and avoid duplicate effort. 

      TM enables your projects to utilize existing translations, and to share common-source translation databases. The TM page displays all of the translation memories (TMX files) stored within your Company in Gridly.

      Note

       Access to Translation memory (TM) is permission-based (refer to Roles and Groups).

       

      How does TM work in Gridly

      Gridly simplifies the work of translators by auto-filling language pairs into corresponding language columns when a new record of the source language matching with text stored in TM is created.

      Gridly_TM_s.gif

      A translator should then only check whether the suggestion is ok and if so, then the text can be easily approved by clicking on the “Approve TM text” option in the context menu:

      Approve_TM_text_context_menu.PNG

      For existing records that match a language pair stored in TM of the project, Gridly makes suggestion once a translator starts editing the cell in the corresponding language column: 

      mceclip0.png

      Translation Memory is auto synced and activated when the dependencies are set, which means Gridly can update your translation automatically when a new dependency is created.

      Auto_Synce.gif

      Synchronize TM

      With the new manual synchronization of the Translation Memory, you’re able to reuse your translations right away when they’re created, across all projects in Gridly. 

      Note

      To use the Synchronize feature, you’ll first need to set up localization columns and dependencies in your Grid.

       
      1. Open a Grid,  then click image4.pngon the toolbar.
      2. Select Synchronize TM from the dropdown list.Select_localization.png

      Update current TM

      You can manually push what you've translated from current Grid to the selected TM

      1. Open Update Current TM tab in Synchronize TM
      2. Select a source language
      3. Select target language to update: Select the target language column to update, or click the check box to select all languages.
      4. Click Update TM.

      mceclip2.png

      Fetch from current TM

      You can apply translations from the assigned Translation Memory to the current Grid. 

      1. Open Update Current TM tab in Synchronize TM
      2. Select a source language to lookup
      3. Select target language to update: Select the target language column to update, or click the check box to select all languages.
      4. Click Apply TM.

      Fetch_TM.gif 

      Set up Translation memory

      On the project page,  click the settings icon next to your company name, select Localization settings, and select Translation memory

      Click on the left of a TM to open Translation memory settings: 

      • Activate TM
      • Auto ingest new translation text
      • TM fuzzy match setting
      • Translation status for target cell
      • Reference Record ID when fetching TM.

      Create Translation memory

      In the project page,  click the settings icon next to your company name, select Localization settings and select Translation memory.

      • From the Translation memory page, select + Create TM at the top right of the page.

      image105.png

      • A new translation memory will appear. Rename the translation memory (currently “New TM”) as desired.

      image99.png

      To import an existing TMX file, refer to Update TM.

      To apply the translation memory to one or more specific projects, refer to Assign TM to a Project.

      Assign TM to Projects

      TMs can be applied to all or selected projects. If a new project is created and no translation memory is selected, the project will use the Default TM and its source strings will automatically be filled with its existing translations. 

      To apply a translation memory to one or more specific projects, select the project from the drop-down list.

      Screen_Shot_2020-10-13_at_17.41.43.png

      Repeat until all applicable projects are selected.

      image77.png

      To remove a project from a TM, click the X icon.

      Update TM

      Click Update TM to import an existing TMX file.

      image43.png

      Select the file (the selected file must be a TMX file) and click Open.

      Export TM

      Click the menu icon to the right-hand side of the TM you want to export, and select Export TM.

      The TMX file will be downloaded to your local machine.

      image82.png

      Clean TM

      Warning

      This function erases all of the translation data within the selected TM and cannot be undone. We recommend exporting the TM to create a backup before cleaning (refer to Exporting TM section in the article).

       
      • Click the menu icon to the right-hand side of the TM you want to export, and select Clean TM.
      • The TM will be erased and a success message will be displayed once complete.

      image111.png

      Was this article helpful?


      1 out of 1 found this helpful

      Still need some help?

      Contact Support